Medical Advisory Committee

Prof Andrew McGavigan

Professor Andrew McGavigan

Director of Arrhythmia Services, Southern Adelaide Health Network, Consultant Cardiologist/Electrophysiologist, Flinders Medical Centre and Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, Flinders University, Adelaide, South Australia.

Prof McGavigan is a leading member of the electrophysiology community in Australia and New Zealand. He is Chairman of the Electrophysiology and Pacing Council of the Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand, a Board Member of CSANZ and the Australasian Cardiac Outcomes Registry and is Cardiology Editor (Arrhythmias) for the Internal Medical Journal. He has a strong publication record and is actively involved in clinical trials.


ahora si jijiProfessor Jonathan Kalman 

Professor Jonathan Kalman is a clinician-scientist who leads both clinical and research groups in the Department of Cardiac Arrhythmias at the Royal Melbourne Hospital and University of Melbourne.

Professor Kalman has a national and international reputation as a leader in the field of atrial arrhythmias and has authored over 250 peer-reviewed publications, more than 30 book chapters and delivered over 200 invited lectures at national and international meetings.

In June 2015, Professor Kalman was the Paul Wood invited lecturer of the British Cardiovascular Society.

Professor Kalman is the current Scientific Chair of the Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand, and of the Asia Pacific Heart Rhythm Society. He was the Scientific Co-chair of the 2014 World Congress of Cardiology. Professor Kalman serves on the editorial board of 9 international cardiology journals and is the co-editor in chief of the Journal of Arrhythmias.

Professor Kalman has received the Simon Dack Award of the American College of Cardiology 2014 for outstanding scholarship, and both the Eric Susman prize (2006) of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians and the R.T. Hall prize (2003) of the Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand in recognition of sustained and outstanding research achievement.


Prash Sanders
Professor Prash Sanders 
Professor Prash Sanders is a clinical and academic electrophysiologist. He undertook his Cardiology training at the Royal Adelaide Hospital, electrophysiology and doctoral training at the Royal Melbourne Hospital, before taking up a postdoctoral training in Bordeaux, France.

Professor Sanders was appointed to the Knapman-National Heart Foundation Chair of Cardiology Research at the University of Adelaide and as Clinical Director of Cardiac Electrophysiology at the Royal Adelaide Hospital in 2005. He has since established an internationally recognised electrophysiology laboratory and research group which is at the forefront of strategies for the treatment of atrial fibrillation.

Professor Sanders is an NHMRC Practitioner Fellow and has published >300 peer-reviewed publications. He has received a variety of accolades including being named the 2010 Australian Medical Researcher of the year under the age of 40, receiving a NHMRC Achievement award for the highest ranked Practitioner Award in 2013, and most recently the RT Hall Prize from the Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand in 2015


Dr David O'DonnellDr David O’Donnell

Dr David O’Donnell is an Interventional Electrophysiologist, working at Warringal Hospital, as part of the Genesis Care Cardiology Network and as the Director of Electrophysiology at the Austin Hospital.

Having studied at Melbourne University and the Austin Hospital, his advanced training was in Europe, at the time when the applications of interventional electrophysiology were beginning to emerge and develop. This led to an ongoing clinical focus on ablation for atrial fibrillation and the device management of heart failure.

David also has a specific interest in the management of arrhythmias in athletes and currently works with a number of sporting bodies and elite athletes.Whilst his focus is clinical electrophysiology, he also has a strong commitment to ongoing education, in particular hosting regular training symposia in advanced device implantation techniques for national and international electrophysiology colleagues.


Professor Rukshen Weerasooriya  Professor Rukshen Weerasooriya

Professor Rukshen Weerasooriya is a cardiac electrophysiologist based in Perth.  After graduating from UWA in 1994, Rukshen trained in all aspects of cardiology at Royal Perth Hospital before undertaking sub-speciality training in cardiac electrophysiology with the pioneering group at Hopital Cardiologique du Haut Leveque in Bordeaux, France.  Rukshen is a Clinical Professor of Medicine at UWA and Adjunct Professor at the Electron Science Research Institute of Edith Cowan University. Rukshen sits on the Boards of the National Heart Foundation (WA) and the Australian Cardiac Outcomes Registry.  He is active in clinical electrophysiology and research, having co-authored over 70 peer-reviewed articles.


sah_begg_190Dr Alistair Begg

Dr Alistair Begg MBBS FRACP FCSANZ DDU is an experienced cardiologist with special interests in echocardiography, stress echocardiography, coronary intervention and general cardiology.  He has particular expertise in stress echocardiography. Dr Begg joined SA Heart in 2007.

Alistair has had 15 years of private practice experience in Sydney and Adelaide, and has previously worked as a cardiologist at Flinders Medical Centre.   He graduated in medicine from the University of Adelaide in 1989 and commenced his post graduate training in cardiology at Flinders Medical Centre before completing his post-fellowship training in Sydney. He was awarded his Fellowship to the Royal Australasian College of Physicians (FRACP) in 1996. Dr Begg went on to obtain his Diploma of Diagnostic Ultrasound (DDU) in 1997 and in 2006 was awarded his Fellowship of the Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand (FCSANZ).   In 2008 he completed level 2 training for CT coronary angiography and this complements his special interest in cardiac Imaging.


anglenewDr Angeline Leet

Dr Angeline Leet graduated from Monash University, Victoria in 1994. After completing her Cardiology training at Monash Medical Centre and The Royal Melbourne Hospital, she spent a year in Bougainville, Papua New Guinea as a doctor with Australian Volunteers International. She returned to the Heart Failure and Heart Transplant Unit at The Alfred Hospital, Melbourne in 2004 where she has remained since. Her additional interests include Echocardiography, Ventricular Assist Devices (VAD), The Young Heart Transplant Clinic and research in heart transplant myocardial fibrosis and VAD outcomes.




Dr Lis Neubeck

Dr Lis Neubeck

Dr Lis Neubeck is a Senior Lecturer at the Charles Perkins Centre and Sydney Nursing School. She is an NHMRC early career fellow and an Honorary Senior Research Fellow at the George Institute for Global Health. Her research focuses on innovative solutions to secondary prevention of cardiovascular disease, identification and management of atrial fibrillation, and use of new technologies to improve access to health care.

Lis is President of the Australian Cardiovascular Health and Rehabilitation Association, chair of the scientific committee for ACRA 2015, and is on the board of the Cardiovascular Nursing Council of the Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand.